Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
Community Search
Calendar

 


For information on AOA,

click on the logo above

CME Requirements by State
Share |

 

 

No Requirements 20 Hours Annually 25 Hours Annually 40 Hours Annually 50 Hours Annually

Annual Requirements

Colorado

Indiana

Montana

New York

South Dakota

Arizona (no more than 8 hours of ACCME)

Arkansas (Category 1 or 2)

Louisiana (AOA Category 1)

Alabama

Alaska

 

Kansas

Biennial Requirements

 

 

 

Mississippi

 

 

Licensure Period Requirements:

California - 150 hours per three year period

Connecticut - minimum of 50 contact hours every 2 years

Delaware - 40 hrs every 2 years

Dist of Columbia - 50 period preceding the date the license expires

Florida - 40 hours biennially

Georgia - 40 hours over two year

Hawaii - 40 hours each two years

Idaho - 40 hours every two years

Illinois - 150 hours per 3 yr period

Iowa - 40 bienially

Kentucky - 60 hours over 3 years

Maine - 100 hours per 2 year period

Maryland - 50 hours during the 2 year period preceding relicensure

Massachusetts - 100 hours per 2 year period

Michigan - 150 hours/3 years

Minnesota - 75 hrs/3 year period

Mississippi - 40 hours bienially

Missouri - 50 hours biennially

Nebraska - 50 Hrs /2 year period

Nevada - 35 hrs annually

New Jersey - 100 each biennial

New Hampshire - 100 hrs/2 years

New Mexico - 75 hours

North Carolina - 150 hours of AOA

North Dakota - 60 hours of AOA/3 year reporting period

Ohio - 100 hours over 2 year period

Oklahoma - 16 hours/year

Pennsylvania -  100 hours

Rhode Island - 40 hours per 2 year period

South Carolina - 40 hours every 2 years

Tennessee - 40 hours/2 years

Texas - 12 hours Category 1 plus 12 hours informal/year

Utah - 40 hours every 2 years

Vermont - 30 hours per 2 year renewal

Virginia - 60 hours of CME within the 2 years immediately preceding renewal.  A minimum of 30 of the 60 hours shall be in Category 1

Washington - 150 hours every 3 years; 60 hours must be in Category 1

West Virginia - 32 hours of approved AOA CME, and at least half of the hours must be AOA Category 1

Wisconsin - 30 hours of AOA or AMA Category 1 every 2 years

Wyoming - 60 hours /3 yr period

 

Content Specific Requirements by State:

California - 34/238 Members; 2 Schools; 1 Residency

One Times: 12 hours Pain Management and treatment of terminally ill or dying patients

Florida - 71/222 Members; 1 School plus 1 Branch; 2 Residencies

1 hr in Ethics, 1 hr in FLA rules, 2 hrs preventing errors, 1 hr controlled substances - (all live), 1 hr HIV/AIDS, 2 hrs every 3rd license period in domestic violence

Iowa - 12/53 Members; 1 School

2 hrs. chronic pain management plus 2 hrs end of life care each 5 years

Kentucky - 6/31 Members; 1 School

2 hours must be AIDS/HIV every 10 year period. In 2012, the Kentucky Legislature approved House Bill 1, a comprehensive approach to addressing prescription drug misuse and diversion. Included in this bill was a requirement that physicians complete 4.5 hours of pain-related Continuing Medical Education (CME) every 3 year cycle to be eligible for re-licensure. In order to qualify for re-licensure, all CME must be pre-approved by the Kentucky Board of Medical Licensure

Massachusetts - 1/39 Member

10 hours of risk management (4 hours Category 1 and 6 hours Category 2) included in minimum 40 1A; Applicants who prescribe controlled substances shall complete at least three (3) credits of Board-approved CPD and may be used towards the required ten (10) credits of risk management training

Oklahoma - 40/102 Members; 1 School; 1 Residency; 1 Fellowship (Pain Management)

1 hour every other year in controlled substances

Pennsylvania - 64/289 Members; 2 Schools; 1 Residency

12 credit hours shall be completed in Category 1 or 2 approved activities in the area of patient safety/risk management

Rhode Island - 4/10 Members

2 hours of which must be concerning universal precautions, infection control, modes of transmission, bioterrorism, OSHA and other regulatory requirements

Tennessee 7/40 Members; 1 School

1 of the 40 hours shall be a course designed specifically to address prescribing practices

Texas - 38/185 Members; 1 School

1 hour of the formal ethics must be in the area of ethics and/or professional responsibility

Vermont - 0/5 Members

40% must be Ostepathic

West Virginia - 11/24 Members; 1 School

First time renewals need to have 2 hours completed in the subject of end-of-life care including pain management

 

 

Sign In
Sign In securely