Arnold P. Gold Foundation

The AOCA thanks the Arnold P. Gold Foundation for its continued support of our dedicated and compassionate DO’s. The recognition that our members adhere to the principles of improving the relationships with their patients is a validation of the ethos they bring to the table. The Foundation has established humanism awards for healthcare practitioners, which are awarded through specialty societies. The purpose of these awards is to identify and honor practicing professionals who best demonstrate the ideals of compassionate and respectful care for a patient’s well-being.


  • Compassion and empathy delivering patient care
  • Competence in scientific endeavors
  • Respect for patients, families, co-workers
  • Cultural sensitivity 
  • Effective empathetic communication and listening skills
  • Sensitivity to a patient's psychological well being
  • Confidence and trustworthiness

Additional Award Criteria:

  • Teaching awards
  • Research projects
  • Volunteer work
  • Governmental services
  • Positive evaluations from faculty, co-workers, patients
  • Participation on committees
  • Leadership roles
  • Community service

Submission Info:


Submit Your Nomination Here!


Arnold P. Gold Humanism in Medicine Award Recipients:


Toni Patterson, DO, FAOCA

2022    Robert Vandergraaf, DO, FAOCA
2021    Not Awarded
2020    Not Awarded
2019    Not Awarded
2018    Not Awarded
2017    Not Awarded
2016    Ashley Classen, DO, FAOCA
2015    Bryan Putnam, DO, FAOCA
2014    M. Adele King, DO, FAOCA


Click here to nominate someone for the Arnold P. Gold Humanism Award.