Awards & Honors Committee

Chair: Suzanne Huffnagle, DO, FAOCA

Telianne Chon, DO, FAOCA
Sandra Cifor, DO, FAOCA
Ashley Classen, DO, FAOCA
Glen Feather, DO
Jane Huffnagle, DO, FAOCA
Michael O'Connor, DO, FAOCA
Tom Olen, DO
Megan Rodgers McCormick, DO
Robert Snyder, DO, FAOCA
Irving Ward, DO

Strategy: Engage & Promote 

  • AOCA builds dynamic, engaged, and inclusive membership which sustains the growth and reflects the values of the College. 
  • AOCA develops the culture and leadership of the College’s board and volunteer members to become strategic, innovative, and diverse 

Committee Mission: Promotion & Engagement

  • Acknowledge the success of DO anesthesiologists
  • Support the promotion of DO anesthesiologists
  • Awards allow for promotion of academic anesthesiologist
  • Provide recognition for DO residents
  • Promote among all PD’s
  • Provide recognition for DO students entering anesthesiology
  • Maintain and promote fellow of the AOCA
  • Recruit qualified individuals to apply for AOCA awards


  • Strong interest in reviewing Fellow nominations
  • Collaborative approach to present appropriate candidates to the Board of Governors
  • Clear understanding of the value of AOCA Fellowship
  • Desire to advance the mission of AOCA

Time Commitment 
Committee members serve a two-year term (renewable for an additional second two-year term) and are expected to fully participate in meetings and conference calls as scheduled. Typically, this committee’s work is in the first, second, and third quarters of the year. Much of their work is conducted via email. This committee may conduct in person meetings as needed at the Mid Year and Annual Conventions. Attendance is essential and expected of all committee members.  Attendance at the Mid Year Seminar and Annual Conference strongly encouraged.